Reel Freak

Your Friendly Neighborhood Movie Blog

New ‘RoboCop’ Clip – Joel Kinnaman Fights Bots in Field Test

Joel Kinnaman

Let me start off by saying that it is starting to bug me how almost every comment I see regarding the upcoming RoboCop remake is complete negativity.  I know, I know, reboots and remakes might be getting old and unnecessary to some, but there are exceptions (at least in my eyes).

To me, I think that RoboCop is an 80’s franchise that can benefit from modern visual effects and be a cool action flick.  But “criticism” from the average eye has been less than intelligent, and I’ll leave it to you readers to go and find out yourselves.

The upcoming film is rated PG-13, which has a lot of people up in arms, mainly because it won’t be as gritty or graphic as the original film.  While I can admit I thought the same at first, it honestly doesn’t bother me too much, because I’ll be going into the theaters to see this with expectations to have a fun time.

A new clip from the film has been released, where we see Joel Kinnaman’s character Alex Murphy/RoboCop being put through a field test of AI-like robot fighters.  While the PG-13-level gunfight may be corny to some, I think the choreography and stylized shooting looks pretty damn cool.

The clip can be seen below.

What do you guys and girls think of the upcoming RoboCop remake?  It hits theaters February 12th, directed by Jose Padilha, and stars Joel Kinnaman, Gary Oldman, Michael Keaton, Samuel L. Jackson, Abbie Cornish & Jackie Earle Haley.

Written by Josh Sazin on January 21st, 2014

Leave a Reply

Follow Reel Freak on WordPress.com

Viewers:

  • 32,548 hits
