Reel Freak

Your Friendly Neighborhood Movie Blog

Bryan Cranston – James Gordon vs. Lex Luthor?

3

When it comes to Man of Steel 2, aka Batman vs. Superman, one of the names that’s been tossed around the most so far is that of actor Bryan Cranston.  For a time after the movie was initially announced, he was heavily rumored (and only rumored) to play the role of Superman villain Lex Luthor.  Since then I have also heard a lot of people saying they’d favor Cranston for the role of Commissioner James Gordon, a character on the Batman side of things.  And while either role would suit Cranston perfectly, I have to agree that if he does end up being casted, I’d rather see him as Gordon.

To start, Bryan Cranston is just coming down from the mega-success of his multiple Emmy-win lead role in Breaking Bad.  In the show we see him as Walter White, a chemistry teacher who, over the course of the show, transforms into a kingpin of cooking meth, known as Heisenberg.

Heisenberg becomes disturbingly brutal throughout the show, becoming obsessed with his wealth and power; very similar to Lex Luthor.  Throw in the fact that they both have shaved/bald heads and…is it a big coincidence or does DC want Heisenberg for themselves?

FotoFlexer_Photo2(Left: Cranston as Walter White, Right: DC Comics’ Lex Luthor)

 Don’t get me wrong, Cranston can play a very menacing antagonist, but I don’t want to see him as another one so soon.  Plus, there are a ton of other actors with just as much potential for a perfect fit as Luthor.  Another candidate choice of mine would be Mark Strong (Low Winter Sun, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy). 

To support my thoughts of him playing James Gordon, Cranston has actually voiced the character already in the animated movie adaption of Batman: Year One a couple years back.  He was very good with the role as one of the main characters, and I’d love to see him to do more work as the Commissioner.  I think that Cranston is more than capable of taking a dramatic role like that of James Gordon and could use it to his and the movie’s advantage.

Let’s not forget that physically, Bryan Cranston would be more than eligible to play Gordon.  Just keep the hair, throw on glasses and grow a mustache, and he would already remind me of Gary Oldman’s portrayal of the character in the Dark Knight Trilogy. 

FotoFlexer_Photo(See any similarities?) 

So personally, I would very much like to see Bryan Cranston involved in the DCU.  I think that he has major potential and a lot offer to these movies.  Like I said, both roles would suit him very well, and I would not complain if he was casted for either, but I’d personally rather see him take on James Gordon than Lex Luthor.

Written by Josh Sazin on December 27th, 2013

3 comments on “Bryan Cranston – James Gordon vs. Lex Luthor?

  1. Josh Obershaw
    December 27, 2013

    Right on all counts. Besides, I read WB wants Joaquin Phoenix as “the villian” in MAN OF STEEL 2. Never said who that villian is, but we can assume it’s Luthor?

    • jsazin
      December 27, 2013

      I did read that, and I also read that Lex Luthor is a possibility for Phoenix. I wouldn’t have a problem with that either, but if that is the case, I really hope Cranston is cast for Gordon. What an ensemble that would make!….

  2. smf89
    December 28, 2013

    Great article! I’ve only seen a bit of Breaking Bad, as well as Malcolm in the Middle, so I know Cranston has what it takes to play any sort of character. However, I agree with you- I think it would be far more interesting to see him play Gordon. Being Lex would be rather predictable. I’d love to see what he would do with the role of Gordon.

Leave a Reply

Follow Reel Freak on WordPress.com

Viewers:

  • 33,359 hits
